Review: eBay Gold Ferrule Synthetic Brushes

GoldFerrule1

If you have read a number of my blog posts, then you’re probably already aware that I love my eyeshadow palettes and makeup brushes. Admittedly, when one looks at my collection, they’d most likely think I need another eyeshadow palette and makeup brush set like a whole in my head, but I couldn’t seem to resist hauling them when I see a set or a palette that I like.

Having said that, you shouldn’t really be surprised that I have another brush set to review today…

Or are you? 🙂

This brush set came to my attention when I was browsing eBay a couple of months ago. I have this great love for eBay and I get most, if not all, of my online purchases from there. Anyway, what captured my attention is the fact that they do resemble the Real Techniques brushes that have been raved about my bloggers and Youtube gurus alike. They were relatively cheap at $9-$10 for the set (430PHP), so I figured I might as well give them a try.

Like most of my international orders, these came in about 4 weeks. They didn’t come in a box, but were packed well for international shipping and covered in bubble wrap, so they arrived here undamaged.

The set comes with five types of brushes:

Round Top Kabuki

Angled Kabuki

Tapered Kabuki

Stippling Brush

Flat Top Kabuki

GoldFerrule2

One of the first things that will strike you is that the handles of these brushes may look like RT’s, but their shapes, save for the stippling one, are reminiscent of Sigma’s Kabuki Kit. I don’t own any brush set from Sigma, so I can only speak for these brushes.

I have used three of the brushes that came with this set except for the Stippling Brush and Tapered Kabuki. I have washed them twice and they have NEVER shed on me.

As you can see, the hairs are packed well into the ferrule and it’s pretty secure. It feels soft to the touch and not like one of those brushes that make you feel like the hairs are poking your pores or something – and trust me, I KNOW FIRSTHAND what that feels like. 🙂 These brushes are also pretty dense, so they are great for applying liquid foundation to your face minus the steaks that you sometimes get with those flat foundation brushes.

Appearance-wise, it stays pretty true to color in person. The ferrule is made from aluminum. From what I know of RT brushes, the base is made from rubber or some anti-slip material, but these have plastic bases. It’s not an issue with me since the slight curve of the handles makes it easy for me to grip the brush when I’m using one.

So would I give these brushes my seal of approval?

That’s a definite YES!

I don’t really have a bone to pick with these brushes. The cost is light on the pocket and quality is pretty decent. I already know before they arrived that these would not be dupes shapewise to Real Techniques brushes. To be fair though, these brushes do work for what they’re supposed to do – that is to apply foundation/concealer to your face evenly without the unattractive streaks.

Do you have new brush discoveries lately? I’d love to hear about them. Share them in the comment section below. 🙂

Signature2

4 thoughts on “Review: eBay Gold Ferrule Synthetic Brushes

Leave a Reply

